In reorganization of the importance of technical education sector, Raiganj Polytechnic was established in 1986 in the district Uttar Dinajpur under the patronage of Department Of Science and Technology, Govt. of West Bengal (later approved by All India Council of Technical Education ( AICTE ), New Delhi and affiliated to West Bengal State Council of Technical & Vocational Education & Skill Development ( WBSCT&VE&Now WBSCT&VE&SD)) with two Diploma Engineering courses namely Automobile Engineering and Civil Engineering to impart quality engineering education to the students. But to cope with the technological revolution that occurred in last three decades, later in 2010, Mechanical Engineering has been introduced. Since then, through its quality of academic infrastructure and help of energetic and experienced faculty and other members, the college has become one of the pioneer institutions of Diploma Engineering in the state of West Bengal.